Coates Award

To commemorate Sir Frederick and Lady Coates who did so much for the Trust from its
inauguration in 1972. It is given to an individual who has given outstanding personal service
to the Trust. The award is a silver rose bowl which is presented at the AGM by Sir David

1995Frank Turland
1996Heather Ferguson
1997Freda Moon
1998Gerry Wareham
1999Teddy Neville-Jones
2000Michael A’Court
2001Mike Markey
2002David Granger
2003Barbara McEwen
2004Bernard Dyer
2005Ben Vowles
2006Sheila Cox
2007Elizabeth Granger
2008David Garlick
2009Daphne Howell
2010Jim Gordon
2011David Morris (posthumously)
2012Mary Cooper
2013Malcolm Parry-Davies
2014Peter Lamb & Pat Woodruff
2015Graham Turner
2016Jeremy Waters
2017Sir David & Lady Coates
2018Peter Burt
2019Margaret Morris
2020Dick Appleton
2021Robert Heaton

Ferguson Award

To commemorate the significant contribution that Alisdair Ferguson made not only to the
Trust but even more specifically to the maritime related well-being of the whole Poole area.
It is given to individuals who as leaders of their organisation made an outstanding
contribution to the community as far as possible in parallel with that made by Alisdair
himself. The award is an inscribed glass vase which is presented at the Trust Autumn Supper
by the President.

2005Giles SturdyChairman, Poole Harbour Commissioners
2006Robert BraithwaiteManaging Director, Sunseeker
2007Ian AndrewsChief Executive, Poole Borough Council
2008Helen BrothertonPresident, local National Trust & Dorset Wildlife Trust
2009Jim StewartChief Executive, Poole Harbour Commissioners
2011Gordon PageChairman, Hamworthy Engineering
2012John McBrideCEO, Poole Council
2013Richard LaceyChairman, Poole Harbour Commissioners
2014Jim McGregorPoole pilot
2015Peter Gordon
2016Dave ParhamWork on Swash Channel Wreck
2017“Smiler” Purdy
2019Dr CottManager, Brownsea Island

Turland Memorial Award

To commemorate the considerable contribution made to the Trust by Frank and Mary
Turland who were joint Secretarys from inauguration. Frank was head of Graphic Design at
Bournemouth and Poole College and Mary was the Head Administrator. During their time at
the College, they made a considerable contribution to the arts scene in the conurbation. It is
awarded to a local student from Arts University Bournemouth (AUB) who has shown the greatest
promise in the preceding year. The award is a cheque for £300 which is presented at the
graduation ceremonies in July.

2001Sue Lear (1st presentation 5 Mar 2001)
2002Presented but no name found (Poole Arts Council)
2003Christopher Frazier
2007Adam Gale
2008Joe Barnes
2009Ellie Stead
2010Michael Beel
2011Alycia Maylen, BA (Hons) Arts & Events Management
2013Lauren Holman
2014Christabel Budd
2018Jessica Mountfield
2019Charlotte Woodland, BA (Hons) Architecture
2020Bethany Drake
2021Kira Bennett
2022Patricia Gonclaves, BA (Hons) Fashion